Author Topic: Purification of Tamas  (Read 795 times)

Ramakrishna

Purification of Tamas
« on: July 02, 2013, 12:13:23 PM »
Suddenly I find myself in a state where the sweetness of my Bhakti has run dry and symptoms of tamo guna are in full swing. Lazy, depressed, irritable, general malaise. Peace comes and goes throughout the day if I meditate. Hardly there at all if I don't. My Bhakti is more of a feeling of desperation to have what my practice once gave. Confused as to what happened. Feeling so cut off from the divine and the world. I get sick to my stomach for no apparent reason at least once a week.
All very strange for me. Rarely have symptoms of overload and if i do they seem to be minor and easily fixed. I've been meditating for about 6 years at times for 3-4 hours a day and sometime for only 10-20min a day, depending on new practices and teachings being taken on. I have found a 45min to an hour long to be the most beneficial for me and have been practicing this consistantly for months now.
Now what to do?!?!? I don't know where I went wrong? I want to get back on track but can't seem to find the my path?

kami

Purification of Tamas
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2013, 01:45:04 PM »
Hi Ramakrishna,

Welcome to the forums!

What you are suggesting does not seem to be consistent with tamas. You would not have the motivation to meditate 45 minutes a day if that were the case. Additionally, your consistent practice routine indicates that Bhakti is very much there. It is not at all unusual for the Bhakti to fluctuate between fiery, juicy, over-the-top longing to quietly continuing practices without any of that. Depends on ongoing purification and opening, and of course, Divine Will. [:)]