Author Topic: Extreme restlessness after meditation  (Read 1107 times)

ryodo63

Extreme restlessness after meditation
« on: January 12, 2013, 03:37:10 AM »
Dear Yogani, dear all,

thank you very much for creating this wonderful AYP-site and for sharing so much useful information with anyone who cares to know it! I have been practicing meditation for over 20 years now, but it's only recently that I found your site.
Still, there is one problem that really keeps haunting me and that I can't solve, not even with all the advice you give:
Whenever I tap into deep silence, samadhi, bliss consciousness, pretty soon - usually in the evening and then in the night following the meditation session(s) - I experience some profound restlessness which practically keeps me from getting any sleep. My skin starts to burn as if with neurodermatitis, I toss and I turn in my bed and it's only in the wee hours before dawn that I fall into a kind of exhausted sleep and I wake up feeling pretty awkward.
I have tried many things during all those years, including just continuing my meditation practice (which leads to a series of agitated nights until my body is so exhausted that I either give up or fall sick), refraining from meditation altogether (which helps as long as I stick with it and a bit longer, since it usually takes some sessions to tap into bliss consciousness again after pausing), using different methods and so on, but nothing has really worked. The only thing that "helps" in a way is using a zen meditation that focusses exclusively on mindfulness and only registering "what is" and strictly avoids any kind of meditative absorption. But even so, if I sit for longer periods like for instance with my little zen group, agitation keeps coming back to me in the night.