Author Topic: Where do you work?  (Read 2927 times)

insideout

Where do you work?
« on: February 01, 2008, 03:19:20 PM »
Out of curiosity I would like to see what you yogis and yoginis do in the world.  I am an actuarial analyst for a consulting firm.  The hours are long (50+ a week) and on top of that I need to study for a series of exams that usually take 8 years to get through [xx(]

The work itself is pretty interesting but I'm currently looking for the same type of position in an insurance company where the hours are more typical (40 hours a week).  That way I'll more time for asanas and practices, things won't be so rushed all of the time.

What do you do?  Do you find it aligns with your practices?  Do you sometimes feel it takes too much time away from your yoga or other worldly activities?

Hunter

Where do you work?
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2008, 06:13:40 PM »
I live and work on an organic fruit and vegetable farm.

emc

Where do you work?
« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2008, 09:34:19 PM »
Hunter, you inspire me! I'd like to go work on a fruit and veggie farm... *sigh* Was thinking of going wewoofing for a year or so, to be able to go deeper into practices.

I'm originally a researcher in public health, but quit to work as a teacher/coach at a special school for adults (from 16-17 to 60) with different difficulties to enter the labour market (immigrants, gypsies, former drug addicts and criminals, people with ADHD, dyslexia, mental health problems etc etc - often very intelligent people with lots of resources that has never been detected). I have 3 hrs a day on the train to get back and forth to my job, so there's not much time for practices. Much of my meditation is on the tube or train, but there are lots of changes on the way, so only short sessions are possible. I always feel I would need more time for practices.