Author Topic: Alternating the Nostrils  (Read 719 times)

marty1499

Alternating the Nostrils
« on: November 07, 2009, 09:53:52 AM »
I am new to the website/forum.
Before spinal breathing pranayama, I do a few minutes of alternating nostril pranayama, a practice I've been doing for many years.  
Is there any discussion of this technique on the AYP site?

Etherfish

• http://www.myspace.com/electromar
Alternating the Nostrils
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2009, 10:03:18 AM »
Welcome to the forum Marty.
It has been discussed many times but i don't know where.
Hopefully someone else does.

Victor

Alternating the Nostrils
« Reply #2 on: November 07, 2009, 10:03:53 AM »
alternate nostril is a good practice, I would continue if you like it. Once you do AYP practices for some years you will probably be able to do alternate nostril breathing with no hands!

Christi

• Advanced Yoga Practices
Alternating the Nostrils
« Reply #3 on: November 07, 2009, 10:23:54 AM »
Hi Marty,

Welcome to the forum.

It isn't in the online lessons, but Yogani has published the first hundred or so of the main lessons as the "AYP easy lessons for ecstatic living" book. When he did that he made some additions to some of the lessons. He covers Alternate Nostril Breathing in the addition to lesson 41. Fortunately, you don't have to rush out and buy the book as he very kindly posted the addition in the forum here:

http://www.aypsite.com/plus-forum/index.php?topic=4139#35423

Christi

Holy

Alternating the Nostrils
« Reply #4 on: November 07, 2009, 11:21:46 AM »
Didn't know that Yogani did this kind of breathing for 15 years =P I am sure that this precleansing had some delayed positive effects after his switch to SBP.

Etherfish

• http://www.myspace.com/electromar
Alternating the Nostrils
« Reply #5 on: November 07, 2009, 01:06:30 PM »
"AYP easy lessons for ecstatic living"
I would still buy the book though. It's good quality and has a LOT of good information in it.

miguel

Alternating the Nostrils