Author Topic: acceptance from others  (Read 527 times)

sflorey

acceptance from others
« on: November 26, 2013, 02:11:46 AM »
Hello. I'm still quite new to meditation and ayp and uave some questions.

I have been struggling to find time to meditate while at home. Not because I can't make time but because of criticism of others. I will hide myself and try to "sneak" in as much time as I can, but my wife will come looking for me after only a few minutes of mesitation. When she finds me I am stopped abruptly from my session to hear how I'm wasting my time ans making her life of taking care of our kids more difficult. Meditation practises over short term have already had amazing effects on my attitude and lifestyle. Its driven me to eat healthier and make large steps forward to quit smoking with not but willpower. However since the criticism has started my sessions have been shortened and I'm having difficulty keeping a routine. Does anyone have advice for me to help my wife understand what I'm trying to accomplish? The meditations are going well when I can practice. I just can't get a full 20 minutes. I have also resorted to not practicing pranayyama in order to increase dm time. Is this wrong to do?

jonesboy

• http://community.livingunbound.net/
acceptance from others
« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2013, 05:43:01 AM »
Hi sflorey,

I can really relate to your issue. I know when I first started it was difficult with the family and even now my wife likes to throw in a comment to try to dig me. I have done two things. One and the most important is I learned that all that anxiety you are feeling is not caused by the wife or the kids it is you. If you did not feel that anxeity her comments would not have any effect.. right?