Author Topic: The MOOC  (Read 1492 times)

adamadaman

The MOOC
« on: November 29, 2012, 07:48:38 AM »
For those of you that are not familiar with the concept, an MOOC stands for Massive Online Open Course.  Basically, its an online course where many people can interact at the same time, giving feedback to the instructor, that then changes the direction of the lecture.  The philosophy behind these courses is that information should be democratized and people given access to it for free.  The pioneers of this have started putting lectures from Harvard and Stanford University professors online for everyone to view on various topics.

I was thinking to myself, why not have something like this for Yoga, or even just eastern philosophy in general?  I currently work in IT, so I am familiar with the technology to put something like that together, I am having trouble finding people willing to put the time and effort into developing a curriculum however.

Is there, or does anybody know anyone that would be interested in this?

Parallax

The MOOC
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2012, 12:18:50 PM »
Hi Adamadaman!

I think what you are describing sounds like essentially what AYP has been doing for a number of years. Taking lesson on Yoga (see the link to the main lessons) and putting it on the web for free. AYP takes a tremendous amount of information on practices and is providing it to the masses for everyone to utilize and benefit from. Much of the information on practices used to only be doled out either directly from guru to chosen students, or by signing up and paying for lessons that are generally kept as closely guarded secrets.