Author Topic: A Practice Report  (Read 894 times)

tadeas

A Practice Report
« on: January 20, 2010, 09:42:24 AM »
Here's a report I've written today about some things I've tried in practices, how it went and about some of the processes that have been playing out over here in the past 3 years. Not exhaustive or comprehensive, just some notes. Enjoy ;)

Long sessions of Cosmic Samyama

I started practicing cosmic samyama according to the lessons in February 2008. Over time, until October 2009 (and not according to the  lessons), I've increased the time to about 10-25 minutes. Sometimes it would take less, other times, it would take up to 40 minutes. The most intense period of this practice was winter 2008 and spring and early summer 2009.

The recommended time for cosmic samyama practice in the lessons is 5 minutes. I'd let each sutra dissolve totally and then just be. Especially with the sutras after Earth, Sun, etc. there'd typically be very little or no consciousness of the body. Usually there'd be a sense of vastness and expansion.

Sometimes total unconsciousness or a state of very very deep calmness would occur. In some sessions it used to happen frequently that no self-consciousness was present, the metabolism slowed down considerably, the body would get very relaxed - so relaxed that it became stiff (as if you were sitting on your leg for a long time), and cold. This usually started anywhere during cosmic samyama, or after the first ten minutes of meditation. When it started during deep meditation, I'd just have enough time to lie down and then I'd go unconsciouss. After the waking state resumed, I'd feel like connected into limitless space, a feeling that would last for several hours. The connecting back into the body usually took a while, in the meantime, I didn't remember what day, time or which meditation session it was. (Getting back from the space:)