Author Topic: "I have become an evening star"  (Read 810 times)

bewell

"I have become an evening star"
« on: February 21, 2011, 04:01:06 AM »
"Mother, do not weep for me.  What is the use?  You ought rather to reverence me, for I have become an evening star, among the gods."  

--from a first century Hellenistic funerary inscription (quoted by the Yale professor, Dale Martin in "The Resurrected Body," a chapter in his book The Corinthian Body).

I am studying the New Testament idea of the resurrected body.  Around the time the New Testament was written, the idea that "the mind or soul was of celestial substance" had become part of Hellenistic popular culture.  St. Paul, writing within that cultural milieu in 1 Corinthians 15 spoke of a "earthly body" and of a "heavenly body."

Yogani says that the the neurobiology of our bodies is the nexus for doing dialog between yogic tradition and other religions.  He is confident that the outcome of religious aspiration is has a perennial center across various cultures and religions.

As I read the New Testament, the image of the "man from heaven" or the "heavenly body" strikes close to the yogic idea of the union of "pure bliss consciousness" and physicality.  There is often a great separation in our notion of the heavenly body on one hand, a body of the distant future or of the ascended dead, and on the other hand, our physical body with all sorts of aches an pains and limitations.

Paul speaks of incarnation of the heavenly in language that stands out as one of the great sayings in Western lit:

"When this perishable body puts on imperishability, and this mortal body puts on immortality, then the saying that is written will be fulfilled:  "Death has been swallowed up in victory... Where, O death, is your sting."