Author Topic: Advice please  (Read 2363 times)

hopeless meditator

Advice please
« on: March 13, 2007, 02:24:54 AM »
Hello all,

I have been meditating almost daily now for about 4 years. However, I seem to have got trapped in what feels like an endless "dark Night of the Soul." I had hoped that perseverance would pay off and that a sense of equanimity would emerge. Unfortunately, it hasn't. If anything my general level of anxiety seems higher than ever. I feel I must be doing something wrong, and have prayed about this. I don't like to just give up. Can anyone advise me? I am considering giving up all spiritual practice, but this seems a drastic step to take. I would really appreciate some guidance, but I don't know where best to find it.[:)]

weaver

Advice please
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2007, 02:41:58 AM »
Hello HM and welcome to the forum!

What type of meditation have you been practicing for about 4 years?

hopeless meditator

Advice please
« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2007, 02:56:55 AM »
Hi Weaver,
Thank you. I started off just counting breaths (1 to 10, then back to 1 again). Then I began to use Kriya techniques taught to me by e-mail. I had some scary experiences (including feeling that I could fly), so I ceased all Kriyas! Since then I have been meditating on emptiness on the out breath, and not doing anything on the in breath. I believe this is Formless Meditation, and I found this technique on a Buddhist website.

gumpi

Advice please
« Reply #3 on: March 13, 2007, 03:19:54 AM »
I don't think concentrating on the breathing in the Buddhist fashion is anywhere near as effective as the I AM mantra.  This is my personal opinion though.  Everyone is a little different.

weaver

Advice please
« Reply #4 on: March 13, 2007, 03:27:52 AM »
Hi again HM,