Author Topic: Spinal Breathing/Kriya Pranayama  (Read 2013 times)

BluesFan

Spinal Breathing/Kriya Pranayama
« on: April 14, 2006, 08:05:31 AM »
First of all I'd just like compliment Yogani on putting together such a quality site.  There is a tremendous amount of accurate, practical, and helpful information on this site.  It's amazing to see all of this stuff  in one place and articulated so well (and without all the "worship thy guru" garbage).  

I'm new to the AYP teachings but I have been practicing Kriya pranayama daily for about 8 months now.  Kriya pranayma is essentially the same thing as spinal breathing (w/ some very minor modifications), which leads me to my question.   During kriya pranayama, I do experience a very nice calming effect on the mind and the body.  It's a great prep for meditation (generally).  But one thing I haven't experienced is the physical sensation of energy flowing up and down the spine during pranayama.  From what I've read and heard, this sensation should be one of the effects of kriya pranayama/spinal breathing.  Am I doing something wrong or is this something that just comes with time?  It's not that I'm terribly upset about this lack of sensation, I just want to do everything I can to ensure that I'm practicing correctly.