Author Topic: Janu Sirasana - some pointers please  (Read 803 times)

amoux

Janu Sirasana - some pointers please
« on: October 02, 2010, 10:18:27 PM »
Okay, this is one of the poses I've been doing for six months now, and whilst progress has been made, the imbalance between left and right sides seems more pronounced now than ever.  Right side is fine, forehead resting on knee, left side feels very tight still, and forehead is about 4 inches above the knee.  In order to get any lower, I'm really having to strain, which doesn't seem like a good idea.  I work to my limit and push very slightly.  This worked fine on the right side, but I'm feeing stuck with what to try to balance it up on the left.  Any pointers about loosening up the left hip or left lower back, somewhat?

There's no pain as such, just a very persistent stiffness and feeling of tightness in the lower back.  Any input much appreciated.

dave

« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2010, 02:42:19 AM »
Having unbalanced sides isn't unusual.  My left side is much looser than the right.  Don't over strain listen to your body.

Baddha konasana is a asana you can just sit in with your back to a wall for extended periods of time while your doing things like folding laundry and it opens the hips.  

I do ashtanga for asana.  Which incorporates ujjayi breathing and a light touch of the mulabandha and uddiyana bandha.  I feel the breath and bandhas help bring you into the pose.

Time and consistent practice of course is the best solution.  

CarsonZi

• http://www.facebook.com/?ref=home#!/CarsonZi
« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2010, 02:48:28 AM »
Hi Amoux [:)]