Author Topic: Beginner Asana - er, advise on starting a routine  (Read 801 times)

11jono11

Beginner Asana - er, advise on starting a routine
« on: August 16, 2010, 12:34:19 AM »
Hello, I am looking to add a short Asana session to my practice before my SPB, what would you all advise. + Hopefully others will find this useful.

I am 22, quite fit, i think (I cycle everywhere), eat pretty much purely Sattvic, not massively flexible, for example cannot yet grab hands in Gomukhasana and cannot yet get my forehead to my Knee in Mahamudra. I have some basic experience with Asanas/have been shown some, but would just like to advise on a good thorough but brief (if possible) routine, to help open up energy flow + nudge that energy towards enlightenment that little bit more. [:)]

Also, I have come to AYP from Kriya where we practiced Mahamudra, i found this very powerful (even though I couldn't hold the full position), you can feel the energy going up/being stored in Ajna, if I were to add this to the routine where should I add it? in Kriya practice we were told to do it after SPB, to help lock in the energy from SPB, but I am assuming we are to do it before SPB, why is this?/why are we not to do it after SPB?

God bless

Om Shanti

yogani

• AYP Plus
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2010, 02:40:55 AM »
Hi 11jono11:

The small AYP Asanas, Mudras and Bandhas book offers an approach to asanas that is consistent with keeping a balanced daily routine covering a full range of yoga practices. Included in the book is an "asana starter kit," and an "abbreviated asana starter kit."

Basic illustrations for the asana starter kit can also be found here: http://www.aypsite.com/plus/asana.html

All the best!

The guru is in you.