Author Topic: Culture and Integrity (where do I fit in?)  (Read 998 times)

lucidinterval1

Culture and Integrity (where do I fit in?)
« on: October 20, 2005, 12:40:58 PM »
I went through a rather questionable phase a while back. You see, I am a rocker by nature. My first memories were of the Beatles. I was 8 years old when they broke up. I cried and cried. I prayed at night that they would get back together. When I got older I learned guitar - I am self taught. I spent many many hours every day learning and conquering this instrument. That was about all that I did. My quest was feverish. I have been in rock bands since I was 12 years old.

Back in '95 I was attracted to meditation and yoga. I don't know why, but the pull was very strong. After a while, I began to see alot of wrong things in lifestyles and attitudes. I went through a pretty rough phase of not really accepting many attitudes. Gossiping and whining, pointing fingers... I got really detached. My friends and loved ones annoyed me at times. I did not want to be part of "The Grand Illusion".

I almost stopped playing guitar. What's the point, God is all that matters. Here I am trying to make God contact, and all that I am comfortable with is writing is rock and roll.

My meditations are pretty profound and very important. Yet I still have a burning desire to write heavy rock songs. Recently, I have decided that my musical path is an ingredient that I was born with and  I am not going to leave it behind. I am pretty sure that a Saint would not pursue this angle on life. If so, I am not destined for sainthood in this life and I have to be ok with that. I was born with a drive and a gift, should I abandon it?
Paul

david_obsidian

« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2005, 01:24:05 PM »

Paul,

>>I am pretty sure that a Saint would not pursue this angle on life.

Seriously,  are you sure a saint wouldn't be a rocker?  Why ever not?

Anthem

• http://www.inspirationalworks.net