Author Topic: Now the discipline of yoga  (Read 1510 times)

Katrine

• http://katrinekristiansen.com/
Now the discipline of yoga
« on: March 22, 2006, 08:00:57 PM »
I've been busy lately (not too busy to meditate, though[:)]) doing taxes and other necessary financial "must do's" at work. Finally done with it [:D]

To celebrate, I went to this Indian restaurant downtown Oslo for lunch (yesterday....by myself). I had a nice vegetarien buffet, and as I sat there (the place was almost empty) I studied the wallpaper...it was full of colorful paintings of Indian Yogis and their elephants. I kept looking around for a picture of Krishna (thinking that "he must surely be here"), but I couldn't find it anywhere. So - I enjoyed my lunch, and finished it with a nice cup of Indian tea. (I LOVE tea [:D])

While drinking tea, I read the following words (from a book I had with me) -  by Patanjali:

Now the discipline of yoga.
Yoga is the cessation of mind.
Then the witness is established in itself.

Something happened....

I jumped! Yes....we agree! It is just that I have never labeled it "yoga". The discipline of yoga is the ability to fully be here NOW. (I am sure all of you here know this.....but I didn't.)

Yes. These past couple of years this has gradually revealed itself to me. So I thought: "Oh good....we agree again" (this is my mind commenting; feeding itself on validations). So I felt myself relaxing into the next line:

[:0][:0][:0]

The world stopped! Something.....broke....inside. Something imploded. I dropped dead...I fell flat on the floor (don't worry, I didn't fall off my chair [8D]).
It was such a simple revelation, it took me by complete surprise. I lost my breath.