Author Topic: Ashtanga yoga  (Read 875 times)

Lavazza

Ashtanga yoga
« on: February 27, 2006, 02:43:04 AM »
Hi there!

Are any of you into ashtanga yoga?

I am a beginner, but since participating in two retreats I have gotten more into it, even though I still just practice once or twice a week. My teacher has invited me to practice with him at lunch time when he is doing his own practice, so I might up my dosis to 2-3 or 3-4 times a week. Is there anybody her doing the full 1,5-2 hours 6 days a week, plus the AYP twice a day?

I have not started with the AYP yet, but I do bastrika and sitali every morning.

Jim and His Karma

Ashtanga yoga
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2006, 05:11:36 AM »
Welcome!

I'm concerend, because 90 to 120 mins of asana plus 40 to 60 minutes of AYP is a time commitment not sustainable in the long term. At some point you're going to develop another interest, fall in love, get a demanding job, grow bored, etc, and you'll start dropping things. Which is fine for the asana.....but not for the AYP. AYP is a looooong term thing. We aim to make it a bedrock habit in our life, like tooth brushing. And a 3 hour package of practices can never be bedrock, unless you're living in a mountaintop monastary or something (and never ever leaving the monastary!).

So if you can mentally make a division: consider the asana to be stuff you're "into" right now (and may be "into" for a long while more!). But consider AYP to be something you do like clockwork no matter what, that'd be fine. But I'd caution you to keep your AYP practice basic. Meditation and spinal breathing. Don't take on lots of other practices. Don't get too ambitious, in terms of time. Because at some point you'll get that job or fall in love or something, and you need to bring AYP along no matter what (you'll agree with me on this as soon as you start on it!), and if it starts expanding too much, it might be a weight you'll eventually drop. Keep it sustainable.