Author Topic: Amaroli and conception  (Read 5806 times)

rkishan

Amaroli and conception
« on: January 05, 2010, 09:34:42 AM »
My wife and I have been practicing amaroli for over 15 months now.  We have noticed several positive health changes due to this practice.  I should also state that my meditations are deeper when I practice amaroli.

I was reading Swami Satyananda Saraswati's 'Kundalini Tantra' book (I came to know of this book from AYP lesson 253 http://www.aypsite.com/plus/253.html) this week and came across the following statement on the book.

Quote from 'Kundalini Tantra' page 107 by Swami Satyananda Saraswati  "The practice of amaroli is very important for married women.  The word amaroli means "immortal" and through this practice one is freed of many diseases.  Practicing amaroli over a prolonged period also produces a hormone known as prostaglandin which destroys the ova and prevents conception from taking place"  End quote

I was a little shocked to read the above text.  My wife and I are planning for our second child for the past couple of years and there is no luck so far.  We would not want to jeopardize that with the practice of amaroli.

I would appreciate if some one who has more knowledge on this subject can clarify or explain the above statements of Swami Satyananda Saraswati.  Does practice of amaroli for long periods destroy the ova and prevent conception?  If so, how long is the "long period" mentioned on the text above?

Ram.

« Last Edit: January 09, 2010, 12:26:06 AM by rkishan »

yogani

• AYP Plus
Amaroli and conception
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2010, 09:28:38 AM »
Hi Ram:

On amaroli and reduced ovulation, there is some mention in yoga lore about it (besides Satyananda). Is it true? I'm not aware of any scientific research on it. On the other side, there are opinions out there that amaroli aids fertility and makes birth control pills less effective. What to believe? It needs some science.